Conscious Leadership and the 15 Levels of Consciousness

Conscious Leadership and the 15 Levels of Consciousness

In an age when we try to inspire and motivate others with simple Instagram posts or internet memes, it can be relatively easy to forget what real leadership is or what it implies. The conscious direction is more than being seen and heard by others – it’s about understanding and knowing yourself. 

When an entrepreneur sets out to make a difference in the world, it often happens because of a strong desire to help others. But even as noble as this instinct is, it cannot go very far if it’s not backed up by the entrepreneurs’ desire to grow and develop themselves to be able to step outside their comfort zone and think outside the box on a regular basis. 

The power to inspire and motivate others stems from within, radiating outwards and infecting those found in its immediate proximity. No amount of motivational speech will ever come close to what conscious leadership can bring to the table. To achieve it, however, you first have to analyze yourself and do the inner work needed that will allow you to be at your most powerful, authentic, and confident as you can be. 

In other words, personal growth stands as the foundation of conscious leadership, and it’s only through this ongoing process that managers and entrepreneurs can ever hope to achieve true leadership skills.

The 15 Levels of Consciousness

It should go without saying that, to be able to inspire others, you must first be true to yourself. But depending where you are on the Map of Scale of Consciousness, as described by David R. Hawkins M.D., Ph.D., you may or may not be able to achieve it, not yet at least. Not without the necessary knowledge on what the different levels of consciousness are, in any case.

These levels are divided into two major categories – the levels of truth and the levels of falsehood. Each of these levels is defined by an emotion that dictates an individual’s personality. 

At the very bottom are the emotions (levels) of shame and guilt. These emotions define a person by such characteristics as self-hatred and self-sabotage. When you move up the scale, we have apathy, grief, fear, desire, anger, and pride – in that order. All of these are levels of falsehood, and it is with these emotions that Dr. David Hawkins believes the majority of people operate their lives.   

It is only after pride that we enter the realm of truth (being true to oneself), and it all starts with couragethe courage to admit and take responsibility for one’s faults, the courage to try something new and to get out of your comfort zone. With enough practice, anyone can start on the path of self-improvement and conscious leadership. 

After courage comes neutrality, which is defined by self-trust and the ability of no longer seeing yourself as a victim of circumstance. Next, comes the willingnessto say yes to life, followed by the acceptance of things as they are, as well as your role in the grand scheme of things. With the confidence provided by these emotions, you will be able to reach the level of reason, and with it, the power to make decisions that are not affected by any narcissistic and emotional distortions.  

Once the ego is reasoned out of the equation, we are well on our path to enlightenment, by reaching the 14th level of love. In its evolved state, love is no longer selective and conditional, but more of a way of seeing and relating to life. In this context, love is the cumulation of the other truth levels, all working together in synergy and expressing themselves through the feeling of real and all-encompassing happiness. Unconditional love, the last level before true enlightenment, is where people inspire and motivate others solely by their presence, alone. 


You don’t need to have unconditional love firmly ingrained in your personality before you can become a real leader. Conscious leadership begins with the courage to look into yourself and slowly accepting the unquestionable truth that you are not at the center of things. There is no shame in failure, but there is shame in trying to hide it from others and yourself. 


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.